COVID-19

Humanity is facing a pandemic that affects every single person around the world. It is therefore essential that we work together on a global response to COVID-19. In close collaboration with partners, Swiss TPH is committed to actively engaging in the public health response to the pandemic in Switzerland and abroad, while continuing with our main activities in research, service and education.

Our work on COVID-19 ranges from the development of point-of-care diagnostics and designing and implementing clinical trials, to mathematical modelling to identify and reduce transmission. We are also working closely with governments to provide guidance and evidence-based advisory services.

We would like to thank all of our partners for your terrific collaboration, creativity, entrepreneurial spirit and solidarity. Together, we will come out of this crisis stronger and better prepared to make strides towards improving global health.

Swiss TPH plays a unique role in the response to COVID-19. We collaborate with multiple institutions and organisations and share our knowledge of disease transmission, virology, intervention strategies and more. These collaborations have widespread benefits for individuals in both Switzerland and abroad.

Research Coalitions

Swiss TPH experts are contributing to the Swiss National COVID-19 Science Task Force, a national scientific advisory board set up specifically for the COVID-19 pandemic, and support Corona-Immunitas, a programme powered by the Swiss School of Public Health (SSPH+), which tests the proportion of people with antibodies to the corona virus in Switzerland.

On an international level, Swiss TPH joined the COVID-19 Clinical Research Coalition as one of 70 institutions to respond to COVID-19 in resource-poor setting.

Antibody Testing

Swiss TPH is carrying out the COVCO-Basel study, a long-term study on the effects of the coronavirus pandemic in the cantons of Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft. The study contains both a digital survey that looks at the effects of COVID-19 on individual’s quality of life, such as mental health repercussions, as well as antibody testing (a seroprevalence study).

In collaboration with the canton of Basel-Landschaft and ETH Zurich, a validation study on COVID-19 antibody tests was carried out at the Diagnostic Centre of Swiss TPH in the second quarter of 2020.

New Diagnostic Tools and Prophylactic Treatments

In the MistraL project artificial intelligence, chest X-ray and antigen-based diagnostic tests will be combined to enable and improve diagnosis of COVID-19 patients in low-income settings.

The aim of the DAVINCI project is to develop a simple, low-cost device that can detect antibodies against SARS-CoV-2, using saliva. The project seeks to identify individuals who have been previously infected with SARS-CoV-2 and to provide novel insights into the variations in the immune response to COVID-19. Both projects are financed by the Botnar Research Centre for Child Health Care (BRCCH).

Together with the University of Geneva, Swiss TPH is conducting an open-label cluster randomised trial, the COPEP trial, to assess the efficacy, safety and acceptability of same-day LPV/r-based post-exposure prophylaxis compared to standard of care for asymptomatic individuals exposed to individuals diagnosed with SARS-CoV-2.

Mathematical Modelling

The MODCOVID project, financed by BRCCH, seeks to harness mathematical modelling and machine learning approaches to guide and optimize clinical and public health strategies in the emergency response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Epidemic models are essential tools to coordinate all aspects of the response to pandemics. Models can inform policy makers on strategies for vaccinations and testing, and trigger mitigation measure such as the ‘lockdowns’. Swiss TPH experts propose to use and further develop a well-established technology to simulate epidemics with considerably increased temporal and spatial resolution. The Agent-based Tracking of Disease Spread project is financed by the Swiss National Science Foundation and a collaboration with the ETH Zurich, the University of Applied Sciences in Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) and other partners.

Understanding Public Perception of the Coronavirus

PubliCo is an experimental online platform for COVID-19 related public perception financed by the Swiss National and Science Foundation SNSF. PubliCo is developing a tool that helps tackle the “infodemic” manifested in the COVID-19 context. With this tool, the aim is to foster effective and tailored risk and crisis communication for combating misinformation, stigma, and fear. The project is led by the Institute of Biomedical Ethics and History of Medicine (IBME) at the University of Zurich. Swiss TPH is responsible for the citizen science component where people report on their COVID-19-related experiences.

Governing Systemic Crises in the 21st Century

In collaboration with the Global Studies Institute of the University of Geneva, Swiss TPH researchers aim to assess the initial impact of and responses to the current COVID-19 systemic crisis from an interdisciplinary perspective combining insights from public health, economics and law. In particular, the project seeks to understand how different European countries cope, adapt and transform in the face of systemic disruptions such as those caused by the rapid dissemination of COVID-19 across Europe.

In the EU-funded CORESMA project, Swiss TPH is leading the implementation research to analyse effects of surveillance and containment measures through SORMAS and to tailor effective and efficient control measures to health systems realities in Nepal and Côte d'Ivoire. Combining e-health, serolomics, modelling, artificial intelligence and implementation research, CORESMA aims to close existing gaps between clinical, epidemiological and immunological information in order to better respond to the pandemic.

In many of our existing projects, we have increased the focus of our activities towards the prevention and control of COVID-19.

Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation Projects

The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) is supporting the re-allocation of funds within existing projects that are implemented by Swiss TPH in Africa, Central Asia and Eastern Europe to assist in the public health response to the COVID-19 crisis. Activities range from the creation of a national call centre, procurement, distribution and training on the use of personal protective equipment, to setting up a diagnostics laboratory, training of PHC workers on remote consultations and communications work to dispel fake news. Local Public Authorities and the social sector are engaged to ensure assistance for the most vulnerable, and numerous interventions were adapted to the requirements of physical distancing. The project countries include Tanzania, Moldova, Kosovo, Albania, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Ethiopia and Chad in which Swiss TPH has been working for many years and maintains long-term partnerships.

In addition, a new project in Rwanda was launched by SDC and implemented by Swiss TPH to improve the capacity of community health workers to inhibit, detect and respond to COVID-19.

Rapid Assessment of World Bank COVID-19 Projects

The World Bank supports around 100 country responses to COVID-19 through loans and grants totalling over USD 6 billion. Funding is based on the Multi-phase Programmatic Approach (MPA) model or through restructuring existing projects. Swiss TPH was mandated to assess how far the COVID-19 projects under the MPA framework have reached their overarching objective to contribute to prevention, detection and response to COVID-19, and strengthen national health systems.

Support to the Global Fund

The Global Fund is providing an immediate funding of USD 500 million to help countries fight COVID-19. As part of its 14 mandates from the Local Fund Agent, Swiss TPH is currently reviewing revised detailed budgets and protocols, relevance and effectiveness of savings identified by countries, as well as detailing assumptions of new COVID-19 related activities, best value for money investments, and conducting short local surveys on quality and price of protection equipment.

11.11.2020

Antibody Testing Taken on the Road

The COVCO-Basel study is assessing the seroprevalence of SARS-CoV-2 in the population of the cantons Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft. A bus now brings the study team closer to the... More...

02.07.2020

Study Launched on Antibody Prevalence and Impact of Coronavirus in Basel

A long-term study on the effects of the coronavirus pandemic is being carried out in the cantons of Basel-Stadt and Basel-Landschaft. The study contains both a digital survey that... More...

27.05.2020

Swiss TPH Supports COVID-19 Efforts through Swiss Government Funding

The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) is supporting the re-allocation of funds within existing projects that are implemented by Swiss TPH in Africa, Central Asia... More...

AlKhaldi M, Kaloti R, Shella D, Al Basuoni A, Meghari H. Health system's response to the COVID-19 pandemic in conflict settings: policy reflections from Palestine. Glob Public Health. 2020;15(8):1244-1256. DOI: 10.1080/17441692.2020.1781914

Bigoni A, Fink G. Adding to the debate on the influence of temperature on corona virus disease (COVID-19): the case of Brazil. Public Health. 2020;187:74-76. DOI: 10.1016/j.puhe.2020.07.040

Ehrenberg J.P, Zhou X.N, Fontes G, Rocha E.M.M, Tanner M, Utzinger J. Strategies supporting the prevention and control of neglected tropical diseases during and beyond the COVID-19 pandemic. Infect Dis Poverty. 2020;9:86. DOI: 10.1186/s40249-020-00701-7

Michel J, Bärninghausen T, Tediosi F, Evans D, Tanner M. COVID-19: what else would be helpful to know?. J Glob Health Rep. 2020;4:e2020062. DOI: 10.29392/001c.13513

Setel P et al. Mortality surveillance during the COVID-19 pandemic. Bull World Health Organ. 2020;98:374. DOI: 10.2471/BLT.20.263194

Agrawala S et al. Call for comments: climate and clean air responses to covid-19. Int J Public Health. 2020;65:525-528. DOI: 10.1007/s00038-020-01394-3

Hatz C, Bühler S, Farnham A. The COVID-19 pandemic offers a key moment to reflect on travel medicine practice. J Travel Med. 2020(in press). DOI: 10.1093/jtm/taaa149

Tan-Torres Edejer T et al. Projected health-care resource needs for an effective response to COVID-19 in 73 low-income and middle-income countries: a modelling study. Lancet Glob Health. 2020;8(11):e1372-e1379. DOI: 10.1016/S2214-109X(20)30383-1

Vital Strategies: World Health Organization. Revealing the toll of COVID-19: a technical package for rapid mortality surveillance and epidemic response. New York: Vital Strategies, 2020

Wan H, Cui J.A, Yang G.J. Risk estimation and prediction of the transmission of coronavirus disease-2019 (COVID-19) in the mainland of China excluding Hubei province. Infect Dis Poverty. 2020;9:116. DOI: 10.1186/s40249-020-00683-6

Information on the current situation, federal government measures, recommendations for workplace and for travellers, and answers to frequently asked questions can be found on the website of the Federal Office of Public Health FOPH.

COVID-19

Die Menschheit ist mit einer Pandemie konfrontiert, die uns alle auf die eine oder andere Weise betrifft. Es ist daher von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass wir gemeinsam an einer globalen Antwort auf COVID-19 arbeiten. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern beteiligt sich das Swiss TPH aktiv an der Reaktion des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens auf die Pandemie in der Schweiz und im Ausland, während wir gleichzeitig unsere Schlüsselaktivitäten in Forschung, Dienstleistung und Bildung weiterführen.

Unsere Arbeit im Rahmen von COVID-19 reicht von der Entwicklung von Point-of-Care-Diagnostik über die Konzeption und Durchführung klinischer Studien bis hin zur mathematischen Modellierung zur Identifizierung und Reduzierung der Übertragung. Wir arbeiten auch eng mit Regierungen zusammen, um Leitlinien und evidenzbasierte Beratungsdienste anzubieten.

Wir möchten allen unseren Partnern für ihre hervorragende Zusammenarbeit, ihre Kreativität, ihren Unternehmergeist und ihre Solidarität danken. Gemeinsam werden wir gestärkt und besser vorbereitet aus dieser Krise hervorgehen, um Fortschritte bei der Verbesserung der Gesundheit der Bevölkerung weltweit zu erzielen.

Das Swiss TPH spielt eine einzigartige Rolle bei der Reaktion auf COVID-19. Wir arbeiten mit zahlreichen Institutionen und Organisationen zusammen und teilen unser Wissen über Krankheitsübertragung, Virologie, Interventionsstrategien und mehr. Diese Kooperationen haben weitreichende Vorteile für die Menschen in der Schweiz und im Ausland.

Forschungskoalitionen

Experten des Swiss TPH leisten ihren Beitrag an die Swiss National COVID-19 Science Task Force, ein nationales wissenschaftliches Beratungsgremium im Kontext der COVID-19-Pandemie. Sie unterstützen Corona-Immunitas, ein Programm der Swiss School of Public Health (SSPH+), das den Anteil der Menschen mit Antikörpern gegen das Coronavirus untersucht.

Auf internationaler Ebene trat das Swiss TPH der COVID-19-Koalition für klinische Forschung als eine von 70 Institutionen bei, die auf COVID-19 in einem ressourcenarmen Umfeld reagiert.

Antikörpertests

Das Swiss TPH führt die Langzeitstudie COVCO-Basel über die Auswirkungen der Coronavirus-Pandemie in den Kantonen Basel-Stadt und Basel-Landschaft durch. Die Studie enthält einen digitalen Befragungsteil zu den Auswirkungen von COVID-19 auf die Lebensqualität, wie z. B. Auswirkungen auf die psychische Gesundheit, und einen Antikörpertestteil (eine Seroprävalenzstudie).

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kanton Basel-Landschaft und der ETH Zürich wurde im zweiten Quartal 2020 im Diagnostikzentrum des Swiss TPH eine Validierungsstudie zu COVID-19 Antikörpertests durchgeführt.

Neue Diagnosetools und prophylaktische Behandlungen

Im MistraL-Projekt werden künstliche Intelligenz, Thorax-Röntgenaufnahmen und antigenbasierte diagnostische Tests kombiniert, um die Diagnose von COVID-19-Patienten in einkommensschwachen Gebieten zu ermöglichen und zu verbessern.

Im Rahmen des DAVINCI-Projekts soll ein einfaches, kostengünstiges Geräts entwickelt werden, das Antikörper gegen SARS-CoV-2 mit Hilfe von Speichel nachweisen kann. Ziel des Projekts ist es, Personen zu identifizieren, die zuvor mit SARS-CoV-2 infiziert waren, und neue Einblicke in die Variationen in der Immunantwort auf COVID-19 zu gewinnen.Beide Projekte werden vom Botnar Research Centre for Child Health Care (BRCCH) finanziert.

Zusammen mit der Universität Genf führt das Schweizer TPH eine offene Cluster-randomisierte Studie, die COPEP-Studie, durch, um die Wirksamkeit, Sicherheit und Akzeptanz der LPV / r-basierten Postexpositionsprophylaxe am selben Tag im Vergleich zum Behandlungsstandard von asymptomatischen Personen zu bewerten, die Personen ausgesetzt waren, bei denen SARS-CoV-2 diagnostiziert wurde.

Mathematische Modellierung

Das MODCOVID-Projekt nutzt mathematische Modellierungs- und maschinelle Lernansätze, um klinische und Public-Health-Strategien für die Diagnose, therapeutische Interventionen, die Krankheitsüberwachung und das Management bei der Notfallreaktion auf die COVID-19-Pandemie anzuleiten und zu optimieren.

Epidemiemodelle sind wesentliche Instrumente, um alle Aspekte der Reaktion auf Pandemien zu koordinieren. Modelle können politische Entscheidungsträger über Strategien für Impfungen und Tests informieren und Maßnahmen zur Schadensbegrenzung wie die „Lockdowns“ auslösen. Experten des Swiss TPH schlagen vor, eine etablierte Technologie zur Simulation von Epidemien mit erheblich höherer zeitlicher und räumlicher Auflösung einzusetzen und weiterzuentwickeln. Das Projekt Agent-based tracking of disease spread wird vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds finanziert und in Zusammenarbeit mit der ETH Zürich, der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (FHNW) und anderen Partnern durchgeführt.

Die öffentliche Wahrnehmung des Coronavirus verstehen

PubliCo ist eine experimentelle Online-Plattform für die öffentliche Wahrnehmung von COVID-19, die vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds finanziert wird. PubliCo entwickelt ein Instrument, das zur Bekämpfung der "Infodemie" beiträgt, die sich im Zusammenhang mit COVID-19 manifestiert. Ziel dieses Tools ist es, eine effektive und maßgeschneiderte Risiko- und Krisenkommunikation zur Bekämpfung von Fehlinformationen, Stigmatisierung und Angst zu fördern. Das Projekt wird vom Institut für biomedizinische Ethik und Geschichte der Medizin (IBME) der Universität Zürich geleitet. Das Swiss TPH ist verantwortlich für die Citizen Science-Komponente, in der Menschen über ihre Erfahrungen im Zusammenhang mit COVID-19 berichten.

Die Bewältigung systemischer Krisen im 21. Jahrhundert

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für globale Studien der Universität Genf wollen die Forscher des Swiss TPH die ersten Auswirkungen der aktuellen COVID-19-Systemkrise und die Reaktionen darauf aus einer interdisziplinären Perspektive beurteilen, die Erkenntnisse aus den Bereichen öffentliche Gesundheit, Wirtschaft und Recht kombiniert. Insbesondere versucht das Projekt zu verstehen, wie verschiedene europäische Länder mit systemischen Störungen, wie sie beispielsweise durch die rasche Verbreitung von COVID-19 in Europa verursacht werden, umgehen, sich anpassen und transformieren.

Im EU-finanzierten Projekt CORESMA leitet das Swiss TPH das Arbeitspaket zur Umsetzungsforschung, um die Auswirkungen von Überwachungs- und Eindämmungsmassnahmen durch SORMAS in Ländern zu analysieren, die besonders anfällig für die COVID-19-Epidemie sind, und um effektive und effiziente Kontrollmassnahmen auf die Gegebenheiten der Gesundheitssysteme in Nepal und der Elfenbeinküste zuzuschneiden. Durch die Kombination von E-Health, Serolomik, Modellierung, künstlicher Intelligenz und Implementierungsforschung will CORESMA bestehende Lücken zwischen klinischen, epidemiologischen und immunologischen Informationen schließen, um besser auf die Pandemie reagieren zu können. 

In vielen unserer bestehenden Projekte haben wir den Schwerpunkt verstärkt auf Aktivitäten zur Prävention und Kontrolle von COVID-19-Infektionen gelegt.

Projekte der Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit

Die Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) unterstützt die Neuzuweisung von Mitteln innerhalb bestehender Projekte, die vom Swiss TPH in Afrika, Zentralasien und Osteuropa durchgeführt werden, um die Reaktion des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens auf die COVID-19-Krise zu unterstützen. Die Aktivitäten reichen von der Einrichtung eines nationalen Callcenters, der Beschaffung, Verteilung und Schulung über die Verwendung persönlicher Schutzausrüstung bis hin zur Einrichtung eines Diagnostiklabors, der Schulung von Mitarbeitern der primären Gesundheitsversorgung in Fernkonsultationen und der Kommunikationsarbeit.  Lokale öffentliche Behörden und der soziale Sektor engagieren sich, um Hilfe für die Schwächsten sicherzustellen, und zahlreiche Interventionen wurden an die Erfordernisse der physischen Distanzierung angepasst. Zu den Projektländern gehören Tansania, Moldawien, Kosovo, Albanien, Tadschikistan, Ukraine, Äthiopien und Tschad, in denen das Swiss TPH seit vielen Jahren tätig ist und langjährige Partnerschaften unterhält.

Darüber hinaus wurde von der DEZA ein neues Projekt in Ruanda lanciert und vom Swiss TPH umgesetzt, um Kapazität und Wissen des Gesundheitspersonals in den Gemeinden im Umgang mit COVID-19 zu verbessern.

Bewertung von COVID-19-Projekten der Weltbank

Die Weltbank unterstützt rund 100 Länder bei der Reaktion auf COVID-19 mit Darlehen und Zuschüssen in Höhe von insgesamt über 6 Milliarden USD. Die Finanzierung basiert auf dem Modell des mehrstufigen programmatischen Ansatzes (Multi-phase Programmatic Approach, MPA) oder durch die Umstrukturierung bestehender Projekte. Das Swiss TPH wurde beauftragt, zu beurteilen, inwieweit die COVID-19-Projekte im Rahmen des MPA-Rahmens ihr übergeordnetes Ziel erreicht haben, zur Prävention, Aufdeckung und Reaktion auf COVID-19 beizutragen und die nationalen Gesundheitssysteme zu stärken.

Unterstützung des Global Fund

Der Global Fund stellt eine Sofortfinanzierung in Höhe von 500 Millionen USD zur Verfügung, um Ländern im Kampf gegen COVID-19 zu helfen. Im Rahmen seiner 14 Mandate als lokaler Fonds-Agent überprüft das Swiss TPH derzeit die überarbeiteten detaillierten Budgets und Protokolle, die Relevanz und Wirksamkeit der von den Ländern ermittelten Einsparungen sowie die detaillierten Annahmen neuer COVID-19 Aktivitäten, Investitionen mit dem besten Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis, und macht kurze lokale Erhebungen zu Qualität und Preis von Schutzausrüstung.

11.11.2020

In der Region unterwegs für Antikörpertests

Die Studie COVCO-Basel untersucht die Verbreitung der Antikörper gegen SARS-CoV-2 in der Bevölkerung in den beiden Kantonen Basel-Stadt und Basel-Landschaft. Neu ist ein Bus... More...

02.07.2020

Coronavirus: Studie zu Auswirkungen und Antikörpern in beiden Basel

In den beiden Basel wird eine Langzeitstudie über den Verlauf und die Auswirkungen der Coronavirus-Pandemie durchgeführt. Die Studie enthält einen digitalen Befragungsteil zu den... More...

27.05.2020

Swiss TPH Supports COVID-19 Efforts through Swiss Government Funding

The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) is supporting the re-allocation of funds within existing projects that are implemented by Swiss TPH in Africa, Central Asia... More...

AlKhaldi M, Kaloti R, Shella D, Al Basuoni A, Meghari H. Health system's response to the COVID-19 pandemic in conflict settings: policy reflections from Palestine. Glob Public Health. 2020;15(8):1244-1256. DOI: 10.1080/17441692.2020.1781914

Bigoni A, Fink G. Adding to the debate on the influence of temperature on corona virus disease (COVID-19): the case of Brazil. Public Health. 2020;187:74-76. DOI: 10.1016/j.puhe.2020.07.040

Ehrenberg J.P, Zhou X.N, Fontes G, Rocha E.M.M, Tanner M, Utzinger J. Strategies supporting the prevention and control of neglected tropical diseases during and beyond the COVID-19 pandemic. Infect Dis Poverty. 2020;9:86. DOI: 10.1186/s40249-020-00701-7

Michel J, Bärninghausen T, Tediosi F, Evans D, Tanner M. COVID-19: what else would be helpful to know?. J Glob Health Rep. 2020;4:e2020062. DOI: 10.29392/001c.13513

Setel P et al. Mortality surveillance during the COVID-19 pandemic. Bull World Health Organ. 2020;98:374. DOI: 10.2471/BLT.20.263194

Agrawala S et al. Call for comments: climate and clean air responses to covid-19. Int J Public Health. 2020;65:525-528. DOI: 10.1007/s00038-020-01394-3

Hatz C, Bühler S, Farnham A. The COVID-19 pandemic offers a key moment to reflect on travel medicine practice. J Travel Med. 2020(in press). DOI: 10.1093/jtm/taaa149

Tan-Torres Edejer T et al. Projected health-care resource needs for an effective response to COVID-19 in 73 low-income and middle-income countries: a modelling study. Lancet Glob Health. 2020;8(11):e1372-e1379. DOI: 10.1016/S2214-109X(20)30383-1

Vital Strategies: World Health Organization. Revealing the toll of COVID-19: a technical package for rapid mortality surveillance and epidemic response. New York: Vital Strategies, 2020

Wan H, Cui J.A, Yang G.J. Risk estimation and prediction of the transmission of coronavirus disease-2019 (COVID-19) in the mainland of China excluding Hubei province. Infect Dis Poverty. 2020;9:116. DOI: 10.1186/s40249-020-00683-6

Informationen zur aktuellen Situation, zu den Massnahmen des Bundes, Empfehlungen für Reisende und die Arbeitswelt sowie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen finden Sie auf der Webseite des Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG.